# **EU ISSUES UPDATE**

### **MAY 2020**



#### **INFORMATION**

## **Opportunities for dialogue**

Three members of the European Parliament's Environment Committee representing the Socialist and Democrat, the Renew Europe and the Green political Groups, have tabled another Resolution designed to prevent or delay the authorization of the use of Chromium Trioxide (necessary for chrome plating). This Resolution calls for the European Commission to withdraw a draft implementing decision on an application by a group (separate to CTAC consortium application which was subject to the previous Resolution of March 2019) representing a Russian manufacturer of Chromium Trioxide. The Resolution claims that information necessary for the application is missing, and that the Commission, supported by its advisory Committees, can only take a decision in full compliance with the REACH Regulation once the missing information is provided. If this Resolution is adopted it will impact on the timing of the anticipated decisions – possibly in July – for the authorisation of the CTAC application.

## Call for Covid-19 recovery support by auto industry

The car manufacturing trade association ACEA and others in the auto industry have called for the European Commission to help the industry recover from Covid-19. They have specifically called for the speeding up of the transition to low carbon fuels, support for the 'reskilling' of workers, encouragement for the roll-out of alternative fuels and vehicle charging infrastructure and for efforts to be focused on pursuing legislative proposals that support the switch to *low carbon and low pollutant fuels*. At the same time, the industry has called for "all non-essential public consultations" to be postponed by two months to allow an assessment of the impact of the Covid-19 crisis on new legislation impacting the sector - particularly proposals related to the type approval of new vehicles.

- 00 -

The FIVA Legislation Commission members are: Lars Genild (Chairman), Giuseppe Dell'Aversano, Wolfgang Eckel, Carla Fiocchi, Laurent Heriou, Johann König, Stanislav Minářík, Bob Owen, Christos Petridis, Kurt Sjoberg and Andrew Turner of EPPA works with the Committee.